In 1916, the castle was namely protected by law and turned over to the National Museum by the Ministry of Justice. It had previously been used as a prison. The castle was then restored and opened as a museum.
In 1918-23, the protected status was extended to encompass all the fortifications around Nyborg, with ramparts, bastions, moats, and many of the historical buildings in the town. The central part of Nyborg was thus, in practice, protected.
Preservation map of Nyborg:
See big map
This framework has, ever since, been decisive in steering the development of the town. Now, it will be part of the cooperative effort on the part of the museum, the municipality, the federal government and private foundations as an active and significant resource that can help to transform the future development of Nyborg. In 2016, the restoration and expansion of Nyborg Castle will begin with the goal of putting Nyborg Castle and the town of Nyborg on UNESCO’s World Heritage Site list of unique and irreplacable places.
Minister of Culture Bertel Haarder will participate in the opening of the Danehof on July 2, 2016 at 1:00 PM.